Chicago in Winter

Over Christmas, my family and I traveled to my hometown, in the suburbs of Chicago to spend Christmas with my side of the family. It was the first time my daughter would be spending Christmas in Chicago as well as her first time seeing snow. I was really excited for this trip.

One of the things we did was take my daughter to the Chicago Children’s Museum with my sister. The museum is at Navy Pier, right on Lake Michigan. When we arrived, it was a dreary day with rain that could start at any moment. Before going to the museum, we took a quick walk up the pier. One of the first shots was this, looking out into the late:

Lake Michigan

Parts of the lake we frozen over, it looked like a mini-Antarctica. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to make it to those parts of the lake. Over by Navy Pier, there was a little bit of ice but it was not completely frozen.

When it was time to turn around to go to the museum, this is what I saw:

Low Clouds over Chicago


I loved seeing the skyscrapers disappear into the clouds. I’ve always wondered what it would be like to work so high up and yet not be able to see anything.

Anyway, one of the cool things about the Children’s Museum, aside from watching my daughter have a ton of fun running around, was that it was at the edge of Navy Pier that was closest to the city. So, some of the windows face the city, allowing for some nice unobstructed views.

Into the Clouds

It was a fun trip, though not totally uneventful (but that is a story for a later time). I have many more pictures to share and will be in the next couple of weeks. Until then, here is one last shot of the Chicago skyline seen from Navy Pier.

Disappearing John Hancock Building

 

Leave a Reply

